Church of the Beatitudes

Next to the hillside where Jesus preached His Sermon on the Mount is the Church of the Beatitudes.

Seek Ye First the Kingdom of God!

Built in 1938, it has an octagonal shape to represent the eight blessings of the Beatitudes.

Church of the Beatitudes has an octagonal shape

He began to teach them, saying:
“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called sons of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
“Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you. (Matt. 5:3-12)

Read “Growing through the Beatitudes: Seeking True Humility”

Scenic view from exterior of Church of the Beatitudes